LG 2170 NMC · Generation 3
LG's higher-capacity M53 cells in a lighter pack: the largest Long Range pack yet for Model 3 and Model Y.
- Gross capacity
- 84.7 kWh
- conflicting reports
- Usable capacity
- Disputed
- conflicting reports
- Cells
- Unknown
- Pack mass
- 448 kg
Pack · top view
Module layout unverified
- Cell supplier
- LG Energy Solution
- Cell
- LG M53
About this pack
The 5M succeeds the 5L in Shanghai-built Long Range cars and in the Berlin-built Model Y Long Range RWD. Community sources report LG M53 cells, up from 5,000 to 5,300 mAh, in a pack about 8 kg lighter at 448 kg. Tesla raised the Model 3 Long Range's European WLTP range when it introduced the pack.
Capacity reports converge around 84.7 kWh. A Chinese regulatory figure reported by autoevolution gives 84.85 kWh, and early Chinese deliveries showed about 82 kWh, possibly software-limited. Sources also disagree on whether 84.7 kWh is gross or usable capacity.
Specifications
Pack data, value by value
- Manufacturer-confirmed
- Documented
- Community-reported
- Estimated
Every value shows its evidence level and sources. “Unknown” means no source we trust has published it. We never fill gaps with assumptions.
Filled dot: the value shown as primary (the most specific source for this pack). Rings: other reported values. Differences often come from different definitions of gross capacity.
- Gross capacityTotal energy incl. bottom buffer
- Usable capacityEnergy available 100% → 0%
- Disputed
Sources disagree on whether 84.7 kWh is gross or usable.
Sources report different values. None is marked as correct:
- 84.7 kWh[4]Described as usable capacity (up from about 81.6 kWh) by Tesla-Mag.
- Cell format
- Cell count
- Unknown
- ConfigurationSeries × parallel
- Unknown
- Modules
- Unknown
- Nominal voltage
- Unknown
- Architecture
Remains a 400 V-class pack.
- Pack mass
- Energy densityPack level
- 189 Wh/kgEstimated
Calculated by Tesla Battery Atlas from gross capacity ÷ pack mass. Not a published figure.
- Structural pack
- NoEstimated
- Peak DC charging
- Unknown
The cell
LG M53
A higher-capacity LG 2170 cell reported for the 5M pack introduced in 2025.
Capacity in context
Gross capacity of every documented pack. Hatched bars are disputed ranges; packs with unknown capacity are omitted.
- Cybertruck 4680123
- Model S/X 100103
- Model S/X 2021+100
- Model S/X 9090
- LG 5N88.2
- Model S 8585
- LG 5M84.7
- Panasonic 3L82.1
- Roadster 3.0 (R80)80
- Tesla 8L79
- LG 5L78.8
- Panasonic 377.8
- Model S/X 7575
- LG 5C74.5
- Tesla 4680 Structural (Model Y)69
- CATL 6M62.5
- CATL 6L60
- BYD 7C55–60 (disputed)
- CATL 6C55
- Panasonic 1L55
- Panasonic 1C53.1
- Roadster ESS53
Applications
Where this pack is installed
Each row is a documented link between this pack and a vehicle variant, with its factory, period and evidence. A variant may also appear with other packs.
| Variant | Period | Factory | Market | Code | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long Range AWDModel Y Juniper (2025–) | 2025 – present | Shanghai | Not market-specific | Y5MD | |
| Long Range RWDModel Y Juniper (2025–) | 2025 – Feb 2026 | Berlin | Europe | — | Replaced by the 4680-based 8L in February 2026, according to reports. |
| PerformanceModel Y Juniper (2025–) | 2025 – present | Not documented | Not market-specific | — | Community[11] A spec database lists the LG 5M; factory not specified. |
Supply chain
- LG Energy Solution · plant not disclosedplant undisclosedGigafactory ShanghaicellsDocumented[5][12]
LG cells in the 5M and 5N packs are documented; the supplying plant is not.
- LG Energy Solution · plant not disclosedplant undisclosedGigafactory Berlin-BrandenburgcellsCommunity[13][8]
Community sources report LG 2170 cells in Berlin-built Model Y. The supplying plant is not documented.
Performance
Charging, advantages and tradeoffs
Peak DC charging
Unknown
No verified charging curve for this pack is in the database yet. Curves vary with temperature, state of charge and software, so we only publish curves backed by repeatable measurements.
Identification
How to tell if your car has it
- European Model Y: variant code Y5MD has been reported for the 5M versus Y5LD for the 5L.
- Berlin-built Model Y Long Range RWD switched to the 5M around VIN 766### (RHD) and 770### (LHD), according to a community report.
- The part number on the high-voltage battery label and Tesla service records are definitive. A VIN alone does not encode the cell supplier or pack code.
History
Lineage in the LG 2170 NMC family
LG Energy Solution's NMC 2170 cells power Long Range and Performance Model 3 and Model Y built in Shanghai and Berlin, evolving through the 5C, 5L, 5M and 5N packs.
- Documented[5]
LG 5M reaches Europe
Tesla raises Model 3 Long Range range in Europe with the new LG 5M pack.
Sources
13 references
- [1][Wiki] Akkuwiki – Model 3 / Y / S / X / CT
TFF Forum (Tesla Fahrer & Freunde)communityConsulted 28 Oct 2026Pending direct review
Primary community reference for Model 3/Y pack codes. Used as a research reference only; its tables are not reproduced. Direct access was unavailable during compilation.
- [2]New NMC battery for Model 3 and Model Y Long Range (LG M53 cells, 84.7 kWh, 448 kg)
X (@TeslaNewswire)communityConsulted 28 Oct 2026Pending direct review
- [3]Model Y Long Range AWD units in China equipped with LG 5M battery
X (@TeslaNewswire)communityConsulted 28 Oct 2026Pending direct review
- [4]Batterie LG 5M Tesla : 750 km d'autonomie et recharge plus rapide
Tesla-MagpressConsulted 28 Oct 2026Pending direct review
- [5]Tesla increases Model 3 range in Europe thanks to new LG battery
ElectrekpressPublished 3 Oct 2025Consulted 28 Oct 2026Pending direct review
- [6]Long-Range Tesla Model 3 and Model Y Built at Giga Shanghai Get a Nice Battery Boost
autoevolutionpressConsulted 28 Oct 2026Pending direct review
Cites Chinese regulatory figures (84.85 kWh vs 81.65 kWh); does not name pack codes.
- [7]Model Y AWD – 5M Battery
Tesla Motors ClubcommunityConsulted 28 Oct 2026Pending direct review
- [8]La nouvelle batterie LG 5M de 84 kWh arrive sur la Model Y Propulsion Grande Autonomie
X (@BlogTeslaFr)communityConsulted 28 Oct 2026Pending direct review
- [9]Quelles versions de batteries équipent les Tesla Model 3 et Y ?
Fiches-Auto.frpressConsulted 28 Oct 2026Pending direct review
Secondary table mapping pack codes to suppliers. States that its capacities are gross values.
- [10]Tesla Model Y Premium LR RWD: How the 4680 Battery Pulls Range and Charging Speed Down
TeslAntcommunityPublished May 2026Consulted 28 Oct 2026Pending direct review
- [11]Tesla Model Y Performance (Juniper)
EV DatabasedatabaseConsulted 28 Oct 2026Pending direct review
- [12]Tesla to launch 6-seater Model Y L internationally in 2026
The DrivenpressPublished 15 Dec 2025Consulted 28 Oct 2026Pending direct review
- [13]Used Tesla Model Y: Battery, Variants, SoH
AkkubriefdatabaseConsulted 28 Oct 2026Pending direct review