Skip to content
Tesla Battery Atlas
Independent engineering reference · Data as of 28 October 2026

Every Tesla battery.
Decoded.

Explore the technology powering every generation of Tesla. Discover battery specifications, compare cell technologies, trace manufacturing origins, and find the exact battery used in your vehicle.

CYLINDERS TO SCALE · 1 MM = 3.1 PXØ186518650Ø21702170Ø46804680PRISMATICSCHEMATICBLADESCHEMATIC · SPANS THE PACK

4680

Cylindrical · Ø46 × 80 mm · tabless

Tesla's own large-format cell, unveiled at Battery Day 2020.

Explore 4680 packs
First used
2022
Packs
3
Vol. vs 18650
8.04×

One platform. Every documented generation.

Calculated from the dataset at build time. Nothing here is rounded up.

Tesla models covered
6
Roadster to Cybertruck
Battery variants documented
22
51 vehicle applications
Cell manufacturers
5
Including Tesla's own cells
Manufacturing countries
5
Cell plants & assembly sites
Years of development
18
2008–2026
01Find your battery

Find the battery behind your Tesla.

Pick a model, production year, variant, factory and market. The finder returns every pack documented for that configuration, says why they can't be told apart, and points you to the documents that settle it.

  1. 01 Model
  2. 02 Year
  3. 03 Variant
  4. 04 Factory
  5. 05 Market

Start with your model

Model 3 · 2022 · Long Range AWD · Shanghai

1 documented match
  • LG 5L

    LG · 2021 – 2023

    NMCCommunity

Model Y · 2025 · Long Range AWD · Shanghai

2 possible packs
  • LG 5L

    LG · Jan 2025 – present

    NMCCommunity
  • LG 5M

    LG · 2025 – present

    NMCCommunity

Sources report more than one pack for this exact configuration in the same period. Tesla may have used parallel suppliers, or reports differ. Only the vehicle's own documents can settle it.

Open the battery finder
03Technology evolution

From the original Roadster to the latest 4680 cells.

Every documented pack on one axis. Bars start at first production and fade where production continues; a dashed edge marks an end date no source has pinned down.

Family
’08’10’12’14’16’18’20’22’24’26
Roadster 18650
Panasonic 18650 · Model S/X
Panasonic 2170
LG 2170 NMC
CATL LFP Prismatic
BYD Blade
  • NCA · Nickel cobalt aluminium
  • NMC · Nickel manganese cobalt
  • LFP · Lithium iron phosphate
  • Chemistry undisclosed
  • In production
  • End date not documented
04Global supply chain

Cells made here. Packs assembled there.

Where a cell is manufactured is rarely where it becomes a pack, and that is rarely where the car is built. The map separates the three and draws a connection only where reporting supports it.

  • Documented cell plant
  • Supplier documented, plant undisclosed
  • Tesla vehicle or pack factory
  • Documented relationship Community-reported
Open the global map
Panasonic agreed in 2011 to supply Model S cells. In 2019, Japanese plants were still supplying 18650 cells for the S and X.Cells are produced and assembled into packs on the same campus.Model 3 and Model Y packs and drive units are shipped from Nevada to Fremont for final assembly.Documented by 2019–2020 reporting. Current plant-level allocation is not confirmed.LG cells in the 5M and 5N packs are documented; the supplying plant is not.Community sources report LG 2170 cells in Berlin-built Model Y. The supplying plant is not documented.catl-undisclosed → giga-shanghaiFirst cells reportedly delivered in November 2021. Cell type and chemistry were not confirmed.US-market Model 3 RWD used CATL LFP cells made in China until Tesla withdrew the variant in October 2024. The pack assembly location is not documented here.byd-undisclosed → giga-berlintesla-texas-cells → giga-texasReported: 4680 cells made at Giga Texas are shipped to Berlin, where the 8L pack is assembled.Panasonic Energy · JapanPanasonic Energy at Gigafactory NevadaPanasonic Energy De SotoLG Energy Solution NanjingLG Energy Solution · plant not disclosedCATL · plant not disclosedCATL LingangBYD / FinDreams · plant not disclosedTesla Kato Road pilot lineTesla 4680 cell production, Giga TexasFremontNevadaShanghaiBerlinTexasHethelProjection: Equal Earth, cropped to 8°N–66°N. Map height 487.

12 supply relationships · 10 cell sites · 5 manufacturing countries

06Latest database updates

A living reference, versioned in the open.

v0.1.028 October 2026

Initial dataset

  • First curated set of Tesla battery packs, from the 2008 Roadster to the 2026 4680 8L.
  • Every value carries an evidence level and its sources. Conflicting figures, such as BYD 7C capacity (55 vs 60 kWh) and Panasonic 3 capacity (75, 77.8 and 80.5 kWh), are kept side by side.
  • Cell-to-factory supply relationships are added only where reporting supports them. Undisclosed plants are marked as company-level links.
  • All sources are queued for direct review. During this compilation they were consulted through search excerpts.

Spotted something wrong?

Corrections with a verifiable source are reviewed and logged here.

Suggest a correction

Most recent documented milestones

  1. Documented

    8L capacity data published

    Electrek reports about 79 kWh gross and 74 kWh usable for the 8L, below the 5M it replaced.

  2. Community

    4680 8L replaces LG 5M in a European Model Y

    The Model Y Premium Long Range RWD reportedly switches to Austin-made 4680 cells in a Berlin-assembled pack.

  3. Documented

    LG 5M reaches Europe

    Tesla raises Model 3 Long Range range in Europe with the new LG 5M pack.

  4. Documented

    Model Y L with an 88.2 kWh pack

    The six-seat Model Y L launches in China with the largest Model Y battery yet.

  5. Documented

    Panasonic opens De Soto, Kansas

    Panasonic begins 2170 mass production in Kansas, targeting about 32 GWh a year.

Tesla Battery Atlas is an independent project. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Tesla, Inc. or any battery manufacturer. Tesla and model names are trademarks of their respective owners and are used for identification only.