Skip to content
Tesla Battery Atlas

CATL LFP Prismatic · Generation 3

CATL 6M

6M[5][4][3]

A 62.5 kWh LFP pack for the Juniper Model Y and later Highland Model 3 rear-wheel-drive cars.

LFPPrismatic2025 – presentCommunity
Gross capacity
62.5 kWh
conflicting reports
Usable capacity
60 kWh
Cells
Unknown
Pack mass
Unknown

Pack · top view

Module layout unverified

Cell
CATL LFP prismatic (6M generation)

About this pack

A European type approval reported by autoevolution lists a CATL LFP pack at 62.5 kWh, up from 60 kWh and about 1 kg lighter. The Model Y Juniper's rear-wheel-drive variant was presented with a 62.5 kWh LFP pack, and owners report the code 6M in Model 3 RWD cars built from mid-2025.

Community guides give about 60 kWh usable and up to 64 kWh gross. Tesla does not publish these figures.

Specifications

Pack data, value by value

  • Manufacturer-confirmed
  • Documented
  • Community-reported
  • Estimated

Every value shows its evidence level and sources. “Unknown” means no source we trust has published it. We never fill gaps with assumptions.

Gross capacity: 2 reported valuesspread 1.5 kWh · 2.4%

Filled dot: the value shown as primary (the most specific source for this pack). Rings: other reported values. Differences often come from different definitions of gross capacity.

Gross capacityTotal energy incl. bottom buffer
62.5 kWhDocumented[1][2]

Other reported values:

  • 64 kWh[3]Gross figure given by a buyer's guide.
Usable capacityEnergy available 100% → 0%
60 kWhCommunity[3]
Chemistry
LFPDocumented[1][5]
Cell format
prismaticCommunity[5]
Cell supplier
Contemporary Amperex Technology Co. LimitedDocumented[1]
Cell count
Unknown
ConfigurationSeries × parallel
Unknown
Modules
Unknown
Nominal voltage
Unknown
Architecture
Unknown
Pack mass
Unknown

Reported as about 1 kg lighter than its predecessor; absolute mass not published.

Energy densityPack level
Unknown

Requires both pack mass and capacity.

Structural pack
NoEstimated
Peak DC charging
Unknown

The cell

CATL LFP prismatic (6M generation)

The cell inside the 62.5 kWh-class CATL pack. Its specifications have not been published.

SCHEMATIC · TESLA-SPECIFIC CELL DIMENSIONS NOT PUBLISHED

Cell data

Dimensions
Unknown
Capacity
Unknown
Nominal voltage
Unknown
Energy per cell
Unknown
Chemistry
LFPDocumented[1]

The type-approval report discussed LFP/LMFP; the pack is listed as LFP by community sources.

Capacity in context

Gross capacity of every documented pack. Hatched bars are disputed ranges; packs with unknown capacity are omitted.

  1. Cybertruck 4680123
  2. Model S/X 100103
  3. Model S/X 2021+100
  4. Model S/X 9090
  5. LG 5N88.2
  6. Model S 8585
  7. LG 5M84.7
  8. Panasonic 3L82.1
  9. Roadster 3.0 (R80)80
  10. Tesla 8L79
  11. LG 5L78.8
  12. Panasonic 377.8
  13. Model S/X 7575
  14. LG 5C74.5
  15. Tesla 4680 Structural (Model Y)69
  16. CATL 6M62.5
  17. CATL 6L60
  18. BYD 7C55–60 (disputed)
  19. CATL 6C55
  20. Panasonic 1L55
  21. Panasonic 1C53.1
  22. Roadster ESS53

Applications

Where this pack is installed

Each row is a documented link between this pack and a vehicle variant, with its factory, period and evidence. A variant may also appear with other packs.

VariantPeriodFactoryMarketCodeEvidence
Rear-Wheel DriveModel 3 Highland (2023–)May 2025 – presentShanghaiNot market-specific—
Community[3][4]
VariantPeriodFactoryMarketCodeEvidence
Rear-Wheel DriveModel Y Juniper (2025–)Jan 2025 – presentShanghai, BerlinNot market-specific—
Estimated[2][1]

The Juniper RWD was presented with a 62.5 kWh LFP pack, matching the 6M type approval. The pack code is not stated in the source.

StandardModel Y Juniper (2025–)Oct 2025 – presentNot documentedNot market-specific—
Community[6]

Listed as a CATL 62.5 kWh LFP pack by a spec database. Factory and pack code not confirmed.

Supply chain

  • CATL · plant not disclosedplant undisclosedGigafactory ShanghaicellsDocumented[7][8][9]
View on the global map

Performance

Charging, advantages and tradeoffs

Peak DC charging

Unknown

No verified charging curve for this pack is in the database yet. Curves vary with temperature, state of charge and software, so we only publish curves backed by repeatable measurements.

Advantages

  • Slightly more capacity than the 6L at essentially the same weight. [1]

Tradeoffs

None documented with a source yet.

Identification

How to tell if your car has it

  • Controls › Software › Additional Vehicle Information shows 'High Voltage Battery type: Lithium Iron Phosphate' on LFP cars.
  • The part number on the high-voltage battery label and Tesla service records are definitive. A VIN alone does not encode the cell supplier or pack code.

History

Lineage in the CATL LFP Prismatic family

Large prismatic lithium iron phosphate cells from CATL, wired in series into a single string. Used in rear-wheel-drive Model 3 and Model Y since late 2020.

  1. CATL 6C2020–2021 · 55 kWh
  2. CATL 6L2021–2025 · 60 kWh
  3. CATL 6M2025–now · 62.5 kWh
  1. Documented[2]

    Model Y Juniper

    The refreshed Model Y is presented with a 62.5 kWh LFP pack and a 78.4 kWh NMC pack.

Related packs

Sources

9 references

  1. [1]
    Tesla Gets Type Approval for a New LFP/LMFP Battery Pack From CATL

    autoevolutionpressConsulted 28 Oct 2026Pending direct review

    Reports a European type-approval document: 62.5 kWh (from 60 kWh), roughly 1 kg lighter.

  2. [2]
    Tesla unveils Model Y Juniper

    electrive.compressPublished 10 Jan 2025Consulted 28 Oct 2026Pending direct review

  3. [3]
    Used Tesla Model 3 Battery Versions: LFP vs NCA, kWh by Year

    AutomarpressConsulted 28 Oct 2026Pending direct review

  4. [4]
    Model 3 RWD: new 62.4 kWh battery

    Tesla Motors ClubcommunityConsulted 28 Oct 2026Pending direct review

  5. [5]
    Quelles versions de batteries équipent les Tesla Model 3 et Y ?

    Fiches-Auto.frpressConsulted 28 Oct 2026Pending direct review

    Secondary table mapping pack codes to suppliers. States that its capacities are gross values.

  6. [6]
    Tesla Model Y Standard

    EVKXdatabaseConsulted 28 Oct 2026Pending direct review

  7. [7]
    CATL to kick-off LFP cell supply for Tesla China Model 3

    electrive.compressPublished 20 Jul 2020Consulted 28 Oct 2026Pending direct review

  8. [8]
    Tesla secures approval for Model 3 with cheaper lithium iron phosphate batteries

    ElectrekpressPublished 11 Jun 2020Consulted 28 Oct 2026Pending direct review

  9. [9]
    Tesla Model 3 Standard Range Plus (CATL 6C)

    EV DatabasedatabaseConsulted 28 Oct 2026Pending direct review