Skip to content
Tesla Battery Atlas

CATL LFP Prismatic · Generation 2

CATL 6L

6L[1][4]

The 60 kWh-class LFP pack behind most rear-wheel-drive Model 3 and Model Y from 2022 to 2025.

LFPPrismaticDec 2021 – 2025Community
Gross capacity
60 kWh
conflicting reports
Usable capacity
57 kWh
conflicting reports
Cells
108
Pack mass
Unknown

Pack · top view

Module layout unverified

Cell
CATL LFP prismatic (2nd generation)

About this pack

In late 2021, CATL's second-generation LFP cell raised the entry pack to about 60 kWh. EV Database lists 60 kWh nominal and 57 kWh usable. Bjørn Nyland's measurement, reported by InsideEVs, found about 60.5 kWh in total and 57.5 kWh usable.

Some secondary sources list 62 kWh for the 6L, which may reflect a different capacity definition. The disagreement is shown below.

Specifications

Pack data, value by value

  • Manufacturer-confirmed
  • Documented
  • Community-reported
  • Estimated

Every value shows its evidence level and sources. “Unknown” means no source we trust has published it. We never fill gaps with assumptions.

Gross capacity: 3 reported valuesspread 2 kWh · 3.3%

Filled dot: the value shown as primary (the most specific source for this pack). Rings: other reported values. Differences often come from different definitions of gross capacity.

Gross capacityTotal energy incl. bottom buffer
60 kWhCommunity[1]

Other reported values:

  • 60.5 kWh[2]Owner measurement (Bjørn Nyland).
  • 62 kWh[3][4]Listed by Fiches-Auto as gross capacity.
Usable capacityEnergy available 100% → 0%
57 kWhCommunity[1]

Other reported values:

  • 57.5 kWh[2]Owner measurement.
Chemistry
LFPDocumented[1]
Cell format
prismaticDocumented[1]
Cell supplier
Contemporary Amperex Technology Co. LimitedDocumented[1]
Cell count
108Community[1]

A teardown-based analysis describes cells with the same dimensions as the 106-cell 6C pack.

ConfigurationSeries × parallel
Unknown
Modules
Unknown
Nominal voltage
Unknown
Architecture
Unknown
Pack mass
Unknown
Energy densityPack level
Unknown

Requires both pack mass and capacity.

Structural pack
NoEstimated
Peak DC charging
170 kWCommunity[1]

The cell

CATL LFP prismatic (2nd generation)

A higher-capacity CATL LFP cell that raised the pack to about 60 kWh from model year 2022.

SCHEMATIC · TESLA-SPECIFIC CELL DIMENSIONS NOT PUBLISHED

Cell data

Dimensions
Unknown

Reported to share the first-generation cell's dimensions; values not published.

Capacity
172.5 AhCommunity[5]

Single teardown-based source.

Nominal voltage
3.2 VCommunity[5]
Energy per cell
Unknown
Chemistry
LFPDocumented[1]

Capacity in context

Gross capacity of every documented pack. Hatched bars are disputed ranges; packs with unknown capacity are omitted.

  1. Cybertruck 4680123
  2. Model S/X 100103
  3. Model S/X 2021+100
  4. Model S/X 9090
  5. LG 5N88.2
  6. Model S 8585
  7. LG 5M84.7
  8. Panasonic 3L82.1
  9. Roadster 3.0 (R80)80
  10. Tesla 8L79
  11. LG 5L78.8
  12. Panasonic 377.8
  13. Model S/X 7575
  14. LG 5C74.5
  15. Tesla 4680 Structural (Model Y)69
  16. CATL 6M62.5
  17. CATL 6L60
  18. BYD 7C55–60 (disputed)
  19. CATL 6C55
  20. Panasonic 1L55
  21. Panasonic 1C53.1
  22. Roadster ESS53

Applications

Where this pack is installed

Each row is a documented link between this pack and a vehicle variant, with its factory, period and evidence. A variant may also appear with other packs.

VariantPeriodFactoryMarketCodeEvidence
Rear-Wheel DriveModel 3 (2017–2023)Dec 2021 – Oct 2023ShanghaiNot market-specificE6LR
Community[1][4]
Rear-Wheel DriveModel 3 (2017–2023)2022 – 2023FremontNorth America—
Estimated[7]

US Model 3 RWD used CATL LFP cells made in China. That the pack matches the 6L is an inference, not a confirmed fact.

Rear-Wheel DriveModel 3 Highland (2023–)Sep 2023 – May 2025ShanghaiNot market-specific—
Community[6]

Listed as CATL LFP with about 57 kWh usable, consistent with the 6L.

Rear-Wheel DriveModel 3 Highland (2023–)2024 – Oct 2024FremontNorth America—
Estimated[8]

Tesla withdrew the LFP Model 3 from the US market in October 2024. That the pack matches the 6L is inferred.

VariantPeriodFactoryMarketCodeEvidence
Rear-Wheel DriveModel Y (2020–2025)2022 – 2025ShanghaiNot market-specific—
Community[3]

Listed for Standard and RWD versions 2021–2025.

Supply chain

  • CATL · plant not disclosedplant undisclosedGigafactory ShanghaicellsDocumented[9][10][11]
  • CATL · plant not disclosedplant undisclosedTesla Fremont FactorycellsCommunity[7][8]

    US-market Model 3 RWD used CATL LFP cells made in China until Tesla withdrew the variant in October 2024. The pack assembly location is not documented here.

View on the global map

Performance

Charging, advantages and tradeoffs

Peak DC charging

170 kW

Community[1]

No verified charging curve for this pack is in the database yet. Curves vary with temperature, state of charge and software, so we only publish curves backed by repeatable measurements.

Advantages

  • About 5 kWh more than the 6C while keeping LFP's cost and cobalt-free chemistry. [1]

Tradeoffs

  • The US-market LFP Model 3 relied on Chinese-made cells, which limited federal tax-credit eligibility. Tesla withdrew it from the US in October 2024. [7][8]

Identification

How to tell if your car has it

  • Controls › Software › Additional Vehicle Information shows 'High Voltage Battery type: Lithium Iron Phosphate' on LFP cars.
  • European cars: variant field (D.2) E6LR.
  • The part number on the high-voltage battery label and Tesla service records are definitive. A VIN alone does not encode the cell supplier or pack code.

History

Lineage in the CATL LFP Prismatic family

Large prismatic lithium iron phosphate cells from CATL, wired in series into a single string. Used in rear-wheel-drive Model 3 and Model Y since late 2020.

  1. CATL 6C2020–2021 · 55 kWh
  2. CATL 6L2021–2025 · 60 kWh
  3. CATL 6M2025–now · 62.5 kWh
  1. Community[1]

    60 kWh-class LFP (CATL 6L)

    A second-generation CATL cell lifts the entry pack to about 60 kWh.

Sources

11 references

  1. [1]
    Tesla Model 3 RWD (CATL 6L)

    EV DatabasedatabaseConsulted 28 Oct 2026Pending direct review

  2. [2]
    New Tesla Model 3 RWD (LFP 60 kWh) Gets Remarkable Winter Range

    InsideEVspressConsulted 28 Oct 2026Pending direct review

    Reports Bjørn Nyland's measurement: ~60.5 kWh total, 57.5 kWh usable.

  3. [3]
    Quelles versions de batteries équipent les Tesla Model 3 et Y ?

    Fiches-Auto.frpressConsulted 28 Oct 2026Pending direct review

    Secondary table mapping pack codes to suppliers. States that its capacities are gross values.

  4. [4]
    [Wiki] Akkuwiki – Model 3 / Y / S / X / CT

    TFF Forum (Tesla Fahrer & Freunde)communityConsulted 28 Oct 2026Pending direct review

    Primary community reference for Model 3/Y pack codes. Used as a research reference only; its tables are not reproduced. Direct access was unavailable during compilation.

  5. [5]
    Tesla LFP Model 3

    Battery DesignanalysisConsulted 28 Oct 2026Pending direct review

    Teardown-based analysis of the CATL LFP pack.

  6. [6]
    Used Tesla Model 3 Battery Versions: LFP vs NCA, kWh by Year

    AutomarpressConsulted 28 Oct 2026Pending direct review

  7. [7]
    Tesla Warns That $7,500 Tax Credit For Model 3 RWD Will Be Reduced

    InsideEVspressPublished 2023Consulted 28 Oct 2026Pending direct review

  8. [8]
    Tesla withdraws Model 3 with LFP battery from US market

    electrive.compressPublished 4 Oct 2024Consulted 28 Oct 2026Pending direct review

  9. [9]
    CATL to kick-off LFP cell supply for Tesla China Model 3

    electrive.compressPublished 20 Jul 2020Consulted 28 Oct 2026Pending direct review

  10. [10]
    Tesla secures approval for Model 3 with cheaper lithium iron phosphate batteries

    ElectrekpressPublished 11 Jun 2020Consulted 28 Oct 2026Pending direct review

  11. [11]
    Tesla Model 3 Standard Range Plus (CATL 6C)

    EV DatabasedatabaseConsulted 28 Oct 2026Pending direct review